Why do they like singing on the ‘and’ of 1 or 4? Why?!

I am impeccable at procrastinating typing up my blog posts – though it is not necessarily something I should brag about.

Nevertheless, on my original to-do list from my first learning project post is as follows:

 

  • Pick a genre and style. CHECK
  • Pick a song. CHECK x3
  • Listen to the music. A lot. DOUBLE CHECK
  • Start dancing – see if something works with the music and what I want to work into the flow of the music. YET TO POST
  • Research other dancers, choreographers, and dance moves/steps I want to incorporate. CHECK
  • Break up the music into sections. 
  • Creative moves to go with each section – write them down. YET TO POST/FINISH
  • Put the sections together and PRACTICE! YET TO POST/FINISH
  • Teach it? WILL DO AT A LATER DATE
  • Remember to contrast – angular vs curved, gentle vs strong, slow vs fast, levels of movements…etc.

As you can see, the green is what I have done, the red is what I have either yet to post or am still finishing up, and the blue is what this blog will include.

Breaking the music into sections

For those who might be from a musical background, like myself, it might be easy to think that breaking the music into beats and sections would be simple; for some parts it was. The first song (Madcon – Beggin you) was actually simple enough. Though a few lines started on beat 3, they were fairly precise and reasonably placed beats. No such luck with the other two (Shawn Desman – Dum da dum, and Austin Mahone – Mmm yeah). The full compilations of the songs can be found on my last update, here. For some reason the last two songs decided to hate musicians and their lyrics (in some parts) barely seemed to match up with the beats. There were even parts where they would sing only on the off beats. This almost made it easier, but it was still fairly annoying. I am sure you will see where I mean, as I marked on the page where exactly I thought it was dumb. Here are the pictures of my breaking it up.

Sections 12-17

Sections 12-17

Sections 1-6

Sections 1-6

Sections 7-11

Sections 7-11

Yes, they are fairly messy but I understand them so that’s all that matters right? The green highlighter is where the beats are (or approximately) and the purple is dividing it up into the smaller sections of measures that will make it easier to teach and work through, rather than just having one big, long, go at a 3-minute song all at once.

So there you have it: countless times listening to the songs over and over and over, and numerous attempts to find the actual beat (as seen by my scribbles), this is what I am working with. Oh joy.

In my next post (which I will hopefully get up in the next 12 hours) there will actually be a video of me dancing. Well, I will at least be trying. It is the improv stage of free-styling, working through the music, and seeing what feels good.

I also want to throw in here a few really amazing blog posts I was able to find and read, thanks to Feedly, that have really been helping me along this process.

How Yoga Can Help You Become a Better Dancer

This post is fairly straight forward in showing how beneficial yoga can be. Personally, I am awful at yoga. These are some tips that are actually helping me build motivation to start doing it.

18 Things I’ve Learned About Being A Professional Dancer

Although a few of these tips do not necessarily apply to me, considering I am not a professional dance, I still find them as useful reminders. Actually, some of them are fairly applicable to life in general in my opinion.

How To Improvise Movement When You’ve Never Done It Before

Finally, this is probably one of the most helpful, wonderful, awesome blogs posts that I am basically leaning on with most of my body weight. Not only is this post great, but it also leads to another post that is also helpful.

 

Leave a Reply

