Fall progress

Fall leaves

Looking out at the street from my bedroom window.

A closer, ground-view of the trees on my block

A closer, ground-view of the trees on my block

WP_20151024_008

Saturday morning, one of my favourite times each week.

This week in particular I was up doing homework in bed; a fairly common way for these mornings to be spent. In the midst of attempting to organize my 6 classes of homework and the my upcoming commitments this week I found myself running through the variety of assignments to be done this week. Amid those thoughts I realized I had not yet noticed anything this week to write about for my weekly creative practice. A plan was made to see if a friend of mine would be interested in adventuring out this evening, in hopes of stumbling upon something wondrous to write about. Shortly thereafter, content with the plans and progress being made towards finishing a number of assignments, I decided to take a break, laid back in my bed, and looked out my window at one of the last beautiful days before winter weather takes over. It was then that I noticed it – there are absolutely no leaves left on the trees on my block. I mean sure, I noticed the leaves had been turning bright yellows and reds and I had noticed the grass being slowly blanketed in dried, crunchy leaves, but I had not seriously noticed how far along into Fall we are. It is almost as though someone had pressed forward on a VCR and the month of October is suddenly behind us. Now it’s not unusual for the trees to lose all their leaves, it happens every year, but given the beauty of the day it just seemed too early for them to ALL be gone already. Upon going outside to investigate the severity of this realization I noticed a few leaves left on some trees a few houses down. Unfortunately for the two big trees in my front yard, there is not a single leaf left anywhere.

Now considering my notice of the leaf a few weeks back, it should not be that surprising for me to have noticed the lack of leaves around. However, for some reason this realization seemed to induced some sort of sense of panic. Going into this weekly creative practice I had the thought that many of my realizations would be focused on nature and its beauty, since that is most often what I am drawn to in photography and just generally in spending my time outdoors. What I have instead is not so much a focus on nature, but on the passage of time. While that may be expressed in, and though, nature, it can be noticed in any number of things in everyday life. Even looking ahead to next weeks creative practice I noticed something on Friday to post about, but it too requires a number of days and has the focus on the passing of time.

Leave a Reply

