Running out of days

Day 1 6:30 AM

Day 1 6:30 AM

Day 2 6:30 AM

Day 2 6:30 AM

day 3

Day 3 6:30 AM

Day 4

Day 4 6:30 AM

As the end of the year – and Winter – are upon us, it is not uncommon to notice the sun rising later in the morning and setting earlier – it is 7:00 pm right now and there is not the slightest trace of sunlight left in the sky. I am fortunate enough to be at work by 6:30 am four out of 5 mornings every week. It is for this reason, I think, that I have noticed the increasingly later sunrise each morning more evidently than most other years. While this is a different sort of realization than many of my others so far this semester, I thought it would be rather interesting to try to document these changes. In these first four pictures it is difficult to notice much of anything different, aside from the hints of differences in weather. Day 1 is visibly foggy, evident by the hazy look around the lights. Day 2 was the morning it had rained during the night, and the ground is still wet in the parking lot at my work. Day 3 and 4 were fairly similar, though the clouds are slightly noticeable on day 3. As far as the second set of pictures, taken around 7:15 am on the same mornings as the first four pictures, there is not as much different as I was hoping to show. It may be more beneficial, if I were to retry this project, to take the pictures for longer than just one week. I do find it interesting, at the very least, to see the differences in weather each morning each week.

I am rather disappointed in the results of this attempt to make long-term changes visibly noticeable in a matter of days. I’m not sure if I was really expecting it to work in the first place. Maybe I will try it again another time, or perhaps these

 

subtle, natural changes are simply meant not to be physically recorded, but for each individual to enjoy on that more intimate, personal level. For now, I will go back to noticing the obviously physical things in life, rather than attempting to physically quantify the metaphysical.

Day 1 7:15 AM

Day 1 7:15 AM

Day 2 7:15 AM

Day 2 7:15 AM

 

 

Day 3 7:15 AM

Day 3 7:15 AM

Day 4

Day 4 7:15 AM

 

 

Leave a Reply

